Drug Crimes FAQ
Drug Crimes FAQ:
What are the degrees of drug offenses?
First-degree drug offenses in Minnesota include:
- The sale of at least ten grams of cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamines.
- The sale of at least 50 grams of any mixture that contains narcotics other than cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamines.
- The sale of at least 25 grams of a combination of cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamines.
The maximum sentence is 30 years and a fine of up to $1 million.
Do felony charges apply to marijuana?
Possession of more than 42.5 grams of plant-form marijuana or the equivalent is a felony under Minnesota law. Possession of more than 25 grams of wax is also a felony. The sale of any form of marijuana is a felony, except for a small amount with no compensation (gift).
Is wax a felony in MN?
In short, wax may become a felony in MN even when its possession for a similar amount of marijuana plant would not. Possession of wax, hashish, oil, or other concentrate is not subject to the same decreased penalty as plant-form marijuana. Therefore, possession of wax in MN reaches the felony level easier. Wax, under MN statutes, is defined as Tetrahydrocannabinols. The decreased penalties, which prevents small amounts from reaching felonies, or even sometimes misdemeanors, does not apply to wax. The world is changing and felony prevention should apply the same way to wax. If you were charged with a felony for wax possession in MN, call my office and speak with a felony wax attorney today.